Tags

, , , , , , ,

My great grandad, who I will now refer to as Rama, was born in India in 1893. I never knew him, nor did I ever show any real interest in knowing about him as I was growing up. He was just a man in a black and white photo on our living-room wall.

165911_10150902371948985_1044630089_n

The picture on our living-room wall when I was growing up. I have since learnt that this photo was probably taken on his wedding day, as Hindus only wear turbans on very rare occasions (such as when getting married)

But all that changed one night four years ago when I had an unusual and vivid dream. If you’re not already familiar with the dream I’m talking about, may I suggest you go back to part 1 of this story (the parts are short, I promise) in which I explain.

Rama was one of those old-school immigrants who moved to a country, adapted and integrated, started a family, never spoke a word about his past life, brought his kids up in the culture of the land of their birth and then returned to his homeland at the end of it all to see out his final years. Because of this, no one seems to know much about him.

Still, I did have the Rayiru Facebook group to go to for answers. In there were most of Rama’s grandchildren, my mum’s cousins, none of whom I know personally. Again the knowledge was vague, but combined with the family tree research that my friend Jemilla was able to conduct for me, I managed to piece together to a certain degree my great grandfather’s story.

Rama was born in the south-western state of Kerala, next to the sea. I hadn’t known this when I had that first dream, but I tell you what, the coast of Kerala don’t half look like the place my subconscious conjured up that night.

kappad-beach

He was, by all accounts, an actor and dancer. According to some of my distant relatives he was pretty famous, but I have no proof to back this up. I suspect the story has been unintentionally embellished over numerous tellings throughout the years. He came to England by sea in 1926 to perform, and later the same year he married his English fiancée Gertrude Carter, who had been born in Bombay on the 13th April 1904, during the time of the British Raj. No one knows what exactly her family were doing in India.

250789_10150902373443985_1097924993_n

Gertrude as a young woman

Anyway, documents show that she left India for England in 1917 at the age of 13, sailing from Bombay to Southampton, on the boat Nagoya. Gertrude and Rama married in London and began having children. Six sons, no daughters. Gertrude gave birth to my grandad and name giver, Ram Krishna, in Marylebone in 1936. Eighteen years later he was grown up and got married himself, to my nan, whom I never met as she died before I was born. In 1956 The pair of them had their only child, my mother.

In 1959, with Rama in his 60s and in failing health, which included being partially blind due to cataracts, he and Gertrude returned “home” to Kerala in India, where a house next to the beach was built in which to live out their final years. Rama died in 1969 in the land of his birth, at the age of 76. Gertrude moved back to England shortly after and died a few years later in Harrogate, Yorkshire.

538145_10150902350893985_1320009028_n

Rama and Gertrude about to return to India, him dressed in western attire, her in Indian

547723_3597579061320_451826099_n

This awful quality photo is the only one that I have seen of Rama and Gertrude in India. At first I assumed it was their house, but a friend from Kerala tells me it looks more like an official building than a home, so it remains a mystery 

1959 Southampton to Bombay.jpg

The passenger list for the boat that my great grandparents left England on to resettle in Kerala. They are the fifth name down in the first column on the left. Notice that Rama has been spelt as Ramer, a more British spelling. And if you look at the last column over on the right, you see that “country of intended future permanent residence” is India

And finally some extra information I found out, not that it means anything to me as I am unfamiliar with the Indian caste system. Rama was a member of the Nair caste, native to Kerala, and spoke Malayalam as a first language, as well as Hindi as a second. The Nair were historically involved in military conflicts in the region. Following hostilities between the Nair and the British in 1809, the British limited Nair participation in the British Indian Army. Rama’s occupational title was Kurup. The Kurup served as warriors, generals, and warlords to kings. Being anti-war and an anti-monarchist myself, these words don’t fill me with pride. But I’m not simple enough to compare this to what we would consider a warlord or a king of today, in the western sense of the words.

After finding out all of the above, my next challenge was to try to discover where in Kerala Rama came from, and if I have any distant relatives still there. I’ll tell you about that soon. Keep following the story by subscribing to this blog. In less than three weeks I’ll be off to India.

